Time announces Person of the Year finalists, including Trump

Adjust Comment Print

Time's 2017 "Person of the Year" shortlist has been unveiled, with President Donald Trump, Robert Mueller and Kim Jong Un as three of the 10 candidates considered to be this year's top influencer.

TIME's first selection was Charles Lindbergh, the first person to make a solo non-stop flight across the Atlantic.

One of the names noticeably missing from the list was former presidential candidate Hillary Clinton, who had been among the finalists past year but ultimately lost out to President Trump. Jenkins set a major milestone in becoming the first woman to direct a film that grossed more than $100 million during its first weekend in theaters.

Repeated ballistic missile tests and a back-and-forth war of words with President Donald Trump from the North Korean Leader has intensified the threat of nuclear war in American minds. The protest continued to grow, with hundreds of National Football League players kneeling during the 2017 season. The group consists of thousands of immigrants who came to the United States with their parents in hope for a better life. Mueller has since brought charges against several people while investigating Russia's involvement in the 2016 presidential election.

Feds want 'Pharma Bro' Martin Shkreli's Wu-Tang Clan album
Defence attorney Ben Brafman said on Friday that Shkreli would fight the forfeiture. They also list a painting by Pablo Picasso, which we assume is very nice.

President Trump was named Person of the Year last year, calling it "a tremendous honor".

The #MeToo movement started a year ago after a recording was released of Donald Trump joking about sexual assault during a taping of Access Hollywood. Jenkins is the only female on the shortlist, though numerous #metoo members are women who have shared stories of sexual harassment or assault against Harvey Weinstein and others. Other players followed, and President Trump supercharged the controversy. He was also written into the Communist Party's constitution, which bestowed him with new authority and reinforced him as the country's most powerful leader in modern history.

Previous individuals who were named Time's Person of the Year include President Barack Obama, Ben Bernanke, Mark Zuckerberg, Pope Francis, and Angela Merkel.