BSP ties till 2019, BJP's immoral win won't bite, says Mayawati

Adjust Comment Print

Later, after the victory, Mayawati said that she joined hands with SP to teach the BJP a lesson. After allegations of cross-voting and a delayed counting, Independent candidate Anil Aggarwal, propped up by the BJP, was poised to win against BSP's Bhim Rao Ambedkar, who was being backed by SP, at the time of going to press. "BJP's Rajya Sabha win is no match to their defeat in two prestigious Lok Sabha seats of Gorakhpur and Phulpur in bypolls", she said.

The Samajwadi Party had planned a victory celebration for its candidate, renowned actress-turned politician Jaya Bachchan, after she was re-elected for her fourth term.

Bahujan Samajwadi Party chief Mayawati on Saturday hinted that the setback in Friday's election was unlikely to impact her party's new partnership with Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi party. The BSP chief responded by saying: "I would like to tell BJP and company that their malpractices will not succeed in breaking the ties between SP and BSP".

She alleged that if BJP was serious about saving her life during the June 2, 1995 State Guest House case, then the Yogi government would not have appointed OP Singh as the new DGP of the state. "She is disappointed and frustrated that she could not win the Rajya Sabha seat", Singh said.

Syria: Rebel group, Russians forge Ghouta plan
The Bashar al Assad regime and its ally Moscow have implemented a "leave or die" strategy with deadly air strikes on the enclave. Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), during a news conference in Geneva.

The SP and BSP may have successfully tested waters in Gorakhpur and Phulpur but it remains to be seen if they actually decide to extend this cooperation to 2019 Lok Sabha elections. "We have given a written complaint to the EC that our MLA Anil Singh did not show his vote to the election agent of the party before casting it and we are awaiting a reply from the EC in this regard", Deputy leader of the BSP in the state Assembly Uma Shankar Singh said.

Besides BJP's prominent victor Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, others who made it to the Upper House of Parliament from the party are Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narasimha Rao and ninth candidate Anil Kumar Agarwal, who pulled off a surprise win with the help of second preference votes. "Even BJP is aware of this", she said. "BJP resorted to horse-trading activities to ensure BSP candidate loses in Rajya Sabha polls". More importantly, only in 22 of the 73 seats did the BJP have a lead of more than 10 percentage points over the SP-BSP alliance.

The BSP chief also thanked Suheldeo Bharatiya Samaj Party's Dalit MLA Kamlesh Nath Sonkar for supporting her party candidate and assured him that if the BJP tried to harass him, her party would stand by him and thwart any such attempt. "Nitin Agarwal cast his vote without showing it to the election agent and we have demanded the cancellation of his vote", SP MLC Sunil Singh Sajan said.