Shane Watson masterclass seals third IPL title for Super Kings

Adjust Comment Print

The leg-spinner's stellar all-round performance lifted Sunrisers Hyderabad to a 14-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders, and into the final of the Indian Premier League's 11st edition, where they will face Chennai Super Kings. CSK returned to the league this year after a gap of two years due to suspension.

Coming to middle-order, Warne has named bottom-placed Delhi Daredevils' star player Rishabh Pant for number four spot, followed by MS Dhoni as the wicketkeeper of the team and then there are all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Andre Russell. Fun fact: Out of the six games that SRH have lost in this season's IPL 2018, CSK has beaten them thrice.

Moreover, looking at the team, it seems Dhoni will be captaining the side. Ambati Rayudu had joined Shane Watson. "Ziva doesn't care about the trophy, wants to run on the lawn according to her wordings", he wrote. The Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led side hunted down a competitive 179-run target against one of the best bowling attacks of the current season with nine balls to spare.

Williamson insisted that his side's score of 178 for 6 while batting first was a competitive total and credited CSK for sailing through the initial, hard phase when they were 20 for 1 after five overs before Watson commenced his blitzkrieg.

Chennai, IPL winners in 2010 and 2011, were banned for two seasons in 2015 along with Rajasthan Royals after team officials were found guilty of involvement in illegal gambling.

How much of Hawaii is affected by volcano eruptions?
Stovall said lava spatter from one of the vents was forming a wall that was helping protect a nearby geothermal plant. Ten wells at Puna Geothermal were "quenched", which cools them with cold water, and the last was plugged with mud.

One man who single-handedly secured the win for Sunrisers Hyderabad was Rashid Khan, who chipped in with a quickfire 34 not out off just 10 deliveries with his bat before displaying a remarkable spell of spin bowling.

So when it came down to the big day, 178 proved too little against a batting lineup which had chased down 180+ scores thrice before in this tournament.

Chennai were 20 for one after five overs and looking down the barrel when the burly opening batsman chose to open his arms.

Remarkably, it took Watson 11 balls to get off the mark, but after that he belted 11 fours and eight sixes in the monster knock. But Chennai kept him wicketless in his four overs while scoring 25. Both the teams also topped the points table after the group stage with 18 points each. Siddharth Kaul conceded 32 off two, Shakib Al Hasan 15 off his sole over and Sandeep Sharma literally gifted the trophy to CSK leaking 27 runs in the 13th over - overall, 74 runs off 24 balls.